Week 25: My Pregnancy Journey

 25 weeks

Baby News:

A couple of days ago we got concerning news from my old OB.  My doctor called with my untrasound results and informed me that this baby has kidney distention.  Not the best news you want to hear from the baby doctor.  I guess I knew something was up because the doctor NEVER calls you with ultrasound results.  They usually discuss that AT your appointment.

Kidney Distention — Both of his kidneys are dialated and enlarged.

What does this mean?  We had a similar problem with Austin that seemed to resolve itself after he was born. The fetus usually grows out of this “problem” and nothing is needed to be done post partum.  I thought Austin’s kidney problem was due to my two-vessel cord (a umbilical cord is supposed to have three vessels). However, with my recent ultrasound, they said my umbilical cord was fine this time. I wonder why both of my babies have these kidney problems. Is it hereditary?  Was it something I’ve done?  I really hope Luke’s issue resolves itself like Austin’s. We will do a follow-up ultrasound at 33 weeks. The doctor told me not to worry, but of course I am going to.

Having news like this changes the mindset of your pregnancy.  Everything was going so well and without a hitch so far.  I figured that when the ultrasound tech told me that everything looked fine, I assumed just that.  I am not going to obsess over it like my first pregnancy and just pray that his kidneys will be okay at 33 weeks.

DSCN1015

How far along? 25 Weeks
Total weight gain: 17 lbs
Maternity clothes? Heck Yeh!  I can still wear normal shirts, but maternity jeans and comfy sweat pants are a must.
Stretch marks? No new ones
Sleep: Not since Austin started waking up in the middle of the night and setting our wake up at 5 am.
Best moment this week: Feeling the baby move all over my belly now.  He is definitely getting big.
Miss Anything? Wine… I need a little ME time now-a-days.  I also miss my old body.  I will most certainly be excersizing and letting my body rest and heal after we have this baby.
Movement: Yes, but not as frequent as Austin did.
Food cravings: Chocolate!  I still enjoy fruits and salads as well (same as when I was pregnant with Austin).
Anything making you queasy or sick: Brushing my teeth still makes me gag.
Gender: Boy
Labor Signs: No
Symptoms: I occassionally get heartburn.  I also get full very easily around dinner time and it makes it very uncomfortable to move.  Really, I drank a glass of water and now I’m full.  Okay.
Belly Button in or out? Still an innie, but looks like an outie/innie.  Does that make sense.  It doesn’t to me either.
Wedding rings on or off? On
Happy or Moody most of the time: My husband will agree that I am MOODY.  I think it’s my type A personality.  If things don’t go my way or I am not getting something done then my bitch switch gets turned on.
Looking forward to: Getting Luke’s nursery in order.

DSCN1016

5 thoughts on “Week 25: My Pregnancy Journey

  1. Aww!!! You look adorable Ashley!!! & try not to worry to much about little Luck and just enjoy your pregnancy, Austin was just fine & I’m sure Luck will be too! 🙂 Btw, I LOVE your comment about your type A personality and your “bitch switch” made me laugh because that could not be more me!

  2. It’s sooooooo nice to read your blog (I’ve read them all), and have so many details from so far away…THANK YOU! P.S. your yard looks beautiful! Love you and Miss you!!!

Leave a Reply

