Luke’s Nursery Progress: Part 1

We (and by we I mean Justin and Carl) spent the whole weekend working on Luke’s nursery. They got a lot done and we just have crown molding, baseboard, and the ceiling fan to be put up. Pretty awesome! I thought we had finished the nursery way earlier with my last pregnancy, but I looked back and we have everything set up with one month to go before Austin was born. I’d say we are a little ahead of schedule this time.

Saturday

Daddy’s Little Helper

IMG_1409 IMG_1408 IMG_1412 IMG_1411 IMG_1410 IMG_1413

Justin prepped the room while Austin “helped.” We found out that the closet, door, and window were all slanted and uneven. I don’t know if it was the roof or what, but a border across the top was NOT going to happen. The straight lines would just accentuate the crooked room. Boo.

nursery sketch

So, my original design was out of the question. We agreed upon painting all of the molding the Navy Blue and the closet as well.

Trip to the mall while Daddy and Carl Painted

I almost thought we weren’t going to make it out of the house that day because Austin refused to take a nap despite his grumpy mood. We couldn’t stay in the house since the boys were painting, so we braved the mall. It was supposed to be just my mom and grandma, but Amber and I tagged along. Sorry Grandma and GiGi, you’ll have to steal Austin another day.

Gymboree Easter

We walked into Gymboree first since my mom wanted to pick out an Easter outfit for Austin. We wanted to go with the one that he modeled in for their Easter line, but it looked too babyish & the shoes that went with it had no sole and were for non-walkers. (speaking of walkers… WALKING DEAD tonight!)

We also saw a huge poster of Austin on the wall. Of course, my Grandma had to boast about her handsome great-grandson! 🙂 The assistant manager working said she would save it for us. I’m sure it will end up on my grandma’s wall. She is so cute. She even has a book of laminated advertisements that Austin has been in. She shows it to all of her friends. My proud GiGi.

gymboree poster

Here is the poster. This is a different layout that my friend found earlier in the month. The picture that is currently up in Gymboree is a little different. Same adorable baby, though. 😉

*** I will make sure to write a post later about how I got Austin into modeling.

IMG_1420 IMG_1418

My mom ended up buying Austin this CUTE outfit for Austin instead. I have a white polo to put underneath the sweater vest. I love the airplanes and so does Austin. There are even cute little airplanes on the shoes as well! Austin can spot an airplane in the sky the moment he hears it.

IMG_1416 IMG_1415

Originally, this trip was to get Austin shoes. And shoes were the LAST things we ended up getting. We went to ALL of the kids shoe stores in the mall before we found the right pair(s). It turns out Austin has a fat little foot. He wears a 5 wide. 🙂 We got him some cute skater looking shoes and classic slip ons from Vans. He was just happy to get out of the stroller and walk around a little bit in the stores.

It is so hard to let him walk around by himself because I NEVER wants to hold hands and he always wanders off. He could care less who was coming with him. He has his own agenda for the day and walks where the wind takes him. My lil independent boy.

IMG_1419 IMG_1417

Target was also one of our destinations. We got some essentials (diapers not pictured) there. Somebody got spoiled by his Grandma and GiGi. GiGi’s justification for spending so much was that he was turning 17 months soon. Who can argue with a GiGi. 🙂

Austin fell asleep in the car on the way home because of all of the excitement. LOL

Back @ Home

The boys ran out of paint, so they decided to call it a day. When we got back home they had just finished painting all of the walls and part of the closet.

IMG_1424 The one on the right is the semi-gloss naval from SW. Hmm.

I walked in to look at the room and the walls look great. However, I noticed that the closet paint (naval SW color) looked a little glossy. My brother got us a discount on the paint since he used to work for Sherwin Williams. I chose Icicle and Naval Satin paint. I guess my brother came back with semi-gloss paint. We didn’t find that detain out until the boys ran out of paint and went to get new paint. Everyone assured me that it would dry differently. I let it go because the boys were not finished with it.

Dinner

I made the hungry boys dinner while Austin We had some yummy Margarita chicken that I prepped the day before with corn and pasta salad. I wish I would have taken a picture of it! Darn!

Highlights and Set-Backs

I think one of the highlights of the day was that Austin went to bed VERY easily that night! Even when my evil cat, Daisy, was trying to sabotage this awesome feat by trying to sneak her way into the room and make noise! I think she opened the door about 20 times! GRR! However, if she was trying to wake Austin, she failed. Muahahaha.

Other highlights: spending time with Grandma and GiGi, getting goodies at the mall, yummy food at Red Robin, getting most of the room painted.

Set-back 1. The crooked room

Set-back 2. The glossy paint

Overall, I think the day was successful!

Sunday

IMG_1431 IMG_1430 IMG_1429

Sunday was a LAZY day (for Amber, Austin and I). We had chocolate chip pancakes and chilled out. Austin took a nice, long nap today and the boys got ALOT done. They headed over to Home Depot early to get new paint and molding.

IMG_1424

This is the paint they came back with. The one on the right is the Semi-Gloss SW paint and the one on the right is the “color match” of the Naval color. Uh, apparently Home Depot isn’t very good at matching colors. LOL. Fortunately, I love the “messed up” color. The other one was way too glossy. It may have looked different if there were multiple coats, but the new color goes better with the walls. Good job, boys!

IMG_1423

Here is another picture of the different paints that were supposed to be the same.

IMG_1428 IMG_1421IMG_1427

The boys painted the rest of the closet and the molding. SUCCESS!

Thanks for all of your hard work Justin & Carl! I am so happy the baby room is coming along.

NEXT STEP: putting up the crown molding, baseboard, and ceiling light/fan.

Leave a Reply

