While Daddy Was Gone (March 11-13)

I held off on writing a post about Justin being gone until he came home because a) i wanted to see how things went before I posted something dramatic and emotional b) so none of the crazies on the Internet knew I was home alone.

Things Austin started to do while Justin was away.
1. Holds Hands

2. Stacks and builds with blocks now

3. Became a better cleaner-upper

4. Slept with Mommy. Whoops. :X

IMG_1495

A rundown of how our three days went:

DAY 1
Justin left early in the morning. It felt like any other day, but this time I got up, walked him to the door, made sure he had his phone charger, and watched him drive away. It didn’t quite FEEL like he was leaving for a few days. I saw the suitcase, but it didn’t register. We went about our day, Justin called to say goodbye when they were about to go underway, and Austin got to say bye-bye.

It wasn’t until the early afternoon that it hit me. Austin and I were reading books on the living room floor and I looked over at the clock. I thought “oh, Justin should be getting home in a few hours.” No, no he wouldn’t. No family dinner, no Austin break for mommy, no after bath fun. I got a little teary eyed and decided I needed to get my mind of things fast. There was no use being sad or depressed in front of Austin. He didn’t understand.
I called my mom and my friend Brandi to see about their dinner plans. We made plans for dinner that night with Mom (Grandma) and at the Perez’s house on Tuesday. Great, two days where I can keep my mind off family time and Justin being gone.
We rushed out of the house and drove over to Berry Street Park to get some outside play time in. Boy was that fun(insert sarcastic tone).

IMG_1467

This kid was crazy at the park. We were there a total of 30 minutes. He played for a little bit, but was more interested in going to the street , almost getting whacked by the swings, only wanting to be on the big boy swings, and playing with the older kids. My lil guy wants to be so grown up.

IMG_1496 IMG_1498

On Monday night we hung out with Grandma. Went to a yummy cafe by her house and played at the playground in her complex.

IMG_1468 IMG_1469 IMG_1470

Austin had so much fun playing with the older kids and chasing them around. He even got to ride a big boy truck and held a toy gun. Daddy would be proud. 🙂

IMG_1471 IMG_1472 IMG_1473 IMG_1474

IMG_1475

IMG_1478 IMG_1479

IMG_1480

IMG_1484

He even got a yummy treat to end the night off right.

Going home and sleeping alone was the hardest the first night. I still can’t even imagine what deployments will be like.

DSCN1261

On Tuesday night we went to the Perez Family’s house for some fun an a break for mommy. I was SOOOOO tired that day. It was nice having someone to help with Austin. He always has so much fun with them.

DSCN1262 DSCN1260

His new obsession: playing in cars. Lol

DSCN1263

DSCN1264

DSCN1265 DSCN1266

Tuesday night ended well.

 

DSCN1257 DSCN1258 DSCN1259

IMG_1487 IMG_1488 IMG_1490

Wednesday was zoo time fun in the morning/afternoon with Bri, her mom and Shannel. Austin had a blast an was POOPED after it all.

Wednesday night we had dinner at GiGi’s and were cut short by Daddy coming home! Yay

All in all, it was definitely an experience. It was Justin’s first time away from Austin for an extended period of time. It really makes you appreciate what you have and the people in your life. I am so lucky.

20130313-221433.jpg

I also learned that Austin is tough to manage alone and pregnant. I do need to remember that he is just a baby and is still learning. He can’t communicate his needs and wants as easily as we can which makes for a frustrated baby. I also need to learn how to ask for help more. I am so blessed to have so many family and friends here to help. Thank you all. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

