Blog Share: Why Being A Mom is Enough

I just read an encouraging post by the mommy of Finding Joy.

All too often we get consumed and overwhelmed by the unrealistic expectations that are set for moms now-a-days.  We are supposed to be supermoms.  And honestly, there is no such thing.  There’s me and you and all the other moms out there.  You don’t have to throw extravagant birthday parties or take your kids to amusement parks every week.  You don’t have to be the mom that is always put together with the perfect kids.  You’re not on display.  You’re not like those TV families.  You’re REAL.  You’re a REAL MOM.  As long as you have quality time and memorable moments with your kids that should be enough.  Memorable moments aren’t measured in dollars.  They are measured in love & are priceless.

You’ll know it’s enough when get that little kiss for no reason.  You’ll know it’s enough when your little one takes your hand and pulls you away from what you’re doing to sit down and cuddle up and read a book or play with cars.  Being a mom is enough.  Being you is enough.  Don’t bend over backwards and spend all of your free time one-upping everyone else.  You don’t have to be the best mom compared to other moms because I’m pretty sure your child thinks you’re pretty awesome the way you are.  Be awesome for your kids not for your peers.

I am lucky enough to have an amazing husband who has a job that allows me to stay at home.  I do have a very part time job that lets me to work from home writing articles and blog posts and the money I get from that is simply fun money.  Just enough to fill up the gas tank and begin our daily adventures.  I’d rather stay at home with my boys ALL WEEK and make quality time than work all week and pay for fun on the weekend.  It’s a choice I made.

I know things would be a lot easier and a lot less stressful on our family if I worked, but while my boys are young I just want to be there for them.  I want to make memories and build on our relationships.

I want them to need me because

I

NEED

THEM.

So here I am, a SAHM trying to make things work and searching for those memorable moments that let me know being a mom is enough…

 

======

also check out The Perfect Mom Fallacy

4 thoughts on “Blog Share: Why Being A Mom is Enough

  1. I thought this was a great post until you said you chose spending time with your kids over working and paying for fun. I am a working mom and it’s these comments that make me feel like not enough. So much for your positive message.

    • Sorry you feel that way. I did not intend to offend you. To each their own. If I had to work then I would make the best of it (like you probably do), but since I have an option then i choose to stay and play with my kids and do without some things.

Leave a Reply

