♥ Breast is Best ♥

20130827-203651.jpg

Whoever said only formula-fed babies were chunky didn’t meet my breast-fed beast.

I joke that I am still producing toddler milk (which has a higher fat content) because Luke looks like he’s never skipped a meal in his life.

He was 8 pounds 1 oz when he was born and gained about 2 ounces per day! He was 14 pounds by his 2 month well baby check up. The doctors would always comment on his rolls and I asked if he’d meet his physical milestones early like Austin, the doctor replied “with that much meat on his bones it will be hard to roll over without assistance.”

Austin was much much leaner as a baby. While Austin was an adorable baby, I can’t help but want to kiss Luke’s rolls all day long. There is just something about chunky babies that makes them so delicious (creepy, I know).

I am extremely blessed to have no supply issues. Breastfeeding came naturally to me (especially the second time around).

It was always my plan to breastfeed my babies and I’m so lucky and thankful I can. I have nothing against formula fed babies, though. It’s a mothers choice.
It breaks my heart, however, to hear about someone who desperately wanted to breastfeed, but couldn’t. She “didn’t produce enough,” or “dried up,” or that her “baby had a bad latch.”

I know that some of the reason that mothers tend to switch to formula is because of lack of support. Well, I’m here to give you MY support.

20130827-210744.jpg

Here are a few tid bits I can share about breastfeeding:
1. Never quit on a bad day
2. Ask for help right away
3. Growth spurts happen frequently, don’t feel like you’re not producing enough. Just keep nursing and you’ll get through it
4. Gel pads help with sore nipples
5. La leche hotline for over the phone advice
6. Make some you time
7. Pump in between feeding a to get ur milk to come in that first week
8. When you have a fussy baby at the breast take a break and regroup yourself.
9. Cabbage leaves, hot compress, nursing frequently will reduce engorgement and reduce the risk of clogged milk ducts and/or mastitis
10. Lanolin ointment is great for sore or cracked nipples when first starting to BF
11. Hold off on a pacifier or the bottle until you and your baby get in the groove of BFing (wait at least 4 weeks).
12. Bamboobies nursing pads are GREAT for leaky boobies 😉
13. The best — and probably hardest — breastfeeding advice is to relax! Remember that you and your baby are learning

Check Out These Useful Infographics:

20130827-205907.jpg

20130827-205914.jpg

20130827-205704.jpg

20130827-205720.jpg

20130827-205726.jpg
Feel free to ask me anything. I can offer support, advice, or a shoulder to cry on.

20130827-210519.jpg

6 thoughts on “♥ Breast is Best ♥

  1. One more word of advice: Drink lots of water and your supply will always be enough.
    Every time you nurse you should have a glass of water, juice, milk or whatever you like.

  2. I loved, loved this post! I breast feed for both my boys. My first one I did a little longer but there is so much truth in saying that it is better in the long run as well. There are so many benefits of doing it and your post hit the nail on the head. Great post!

Leave a Reply

