Perils of a Picky Eater

There is nothing more offensive to a toddler than mommy putting something they don’t feel like on their dinner plate.  You’d think Yo Gabba Gabba was canceled with the amount of waterworks.

My son is DRAMA when it comes to eating.  He has NO problem telling you that he doesn’t like and/or feel like something.  One day he may love something and the next day you offer it and he pushes it away in disgust.  Really? I could have sworn you thought it was the coolest thing since sliced bread yesterday.

It is constantly a battle to get my son to eat.  Carbs like bread/toast, oatmeal, and crackers are no problem.  And sweets.  He’s always in the mood for dessert.  Fruit can only be served in smoothie or applesauce form.  Protein… Forget about it.  Veggies, you ask? Ha! Might as well serve them on the ground because that is where they are going.

If he doesn’t like what you’re serving he will push that plate away in 2 seconds flat.  If you’re carrying him to his high hair and he spots that food he turns into a limp noodle.  His goal? To slither out of your grips and fall to the ground. Anything to avoid dinner.

I’ve had to get a little creative to get my picky boy to eat.  Here are the things I’ve tried: 1.Smoothies Austin has a smoothie a day and you better believe it that I shove as much fruits and veggies into it as possible. I’ve even added flax seed.  Those Plum Organic pouches (the veggie mix) go in there as well.  I’ve also started adding shredded carrots and spinach.  Sounds weird huh?  Nope.  I just add some pineapple and OJ to mask the flavor and viola!  Instant nutrients for my little man. The base of my smoothies ALWAYS contains strawberries, bananas, and 1-2 servings of veggies.  Sometimes ill add yogurt, blueberries, pineapple, or a fruit pouch.  It makes me feel better about my picky eater if I know he’s getting something good into his tummy.  I’ve also recently purchased a Vitamix and it is definitely the bee’s knees!

2. Homemade Applesauce I frequently make a batch of homemade applesauce.   I switch it up a bit and make either strawberry, pear, or peach applesauce.  Braeburn apples are the best ones to use because they produce a nice smooth applesauce.

3. Oatmeal He loves (and sometimes hates) oatmeal.  I am more than happy to whip up a bowl of oatmeal for my little guy.  Usually it’s my go-to dinner if he is being really difficult.  I add homemade applesauce to it for his servings of fruit.

3. Bribery Don’t act like you’ve never tried it mommies!  Just recently Austin started to understand “if you do ____ then ill give you _____.”  It takes him a little to understand the concept at first.  A couple days ago I got him to eat his dinner by bribing him with M&Ms.  One piece per bite.  It worked for a little and then he got over it.

4. Choices I will frequently give him choices instead of letting him pick his snack or lunch himself.  He will get two healthy or semi-healthy choices.  Sorry, dude.  Cookies or chips aren’t on the menu.

5. Give in My LEAST favorite way to get him to eat.

I’ll have to talk about the stages of mommy denial, but that’s another post entirely.

2 thoughts on “Perils of a Picky Eater

Leave a Reply

