Freezer Meals Prep

*** update ***
Thank you for stopping by! I know most of you have come from Pinterest. I hope to make more posts related to meal planning and freezer meals in the near future. If you have a specific question or post request then leave a comment and I’ll help as best as I can.
Happy meal planning!
******
freezer meals Jan

I know how much all you mommies LOATHE meal planning. I love cooking, but dislike meal planning. In the beginning of January I finally got up the courage to do one of those freezer meal extravaganzas. I went to a few websites and found recipes that I liked. I made sauces, crockpot meals, marinades, and soups. We are already into March and I still have some meals left over and a few sauces. Obviously, we didn’t LOVE all of the recipes, but we tried them all. I am back and doing another day of freezer meal prep. This time I did a mini version of my January test run and stuck with marinades and a soup.

Before I begin, here’s what I learned from last time:

  • We don’t really like crock pot meals. The only one that was good enough to do again was the Healthy Mama BBQ. I loved the convenience of it and the fact that I could start cooking it in the morning and forget about it until it was ready. Soups were our favorite go-to crockpot meal.
  • Meats and Veggies never taste the same frozen as they do fresh. One time, the potatoes came out rubbery. Very unappetizing. Also, if you cook chicken in the crockpot with tomato sauce or anything too acidic, it changes the chicken. It falls apart easier and isn’t AS juicy. Sure, it’s in the crock pot and it’s in juices, but the chicken itself is not juicy.
  • Whole chicken breasts and thighs are better left un cut and unshredded. Leave the chopping and shredding for after you cook it. It comes out better.
  • Marinades are awesome. Freezing the meat with the marinades make sure it gets infused into the meat. plus, it gets to sit longer while you are thawing it.
  • Prepping before-hand makes mommy’s life so easy.
  • Making freezer meals is great if there is a worth-while sale on meat. Meat is usually pretty pricey and takes up the majority of our grocery bill. Wait until you can get a killer deal on meat before you try this.

Links (used this time and/or last time):

Here are the things I made today (I added some of my favorite marinades):

  • Greek Chicken (2)
  • Citrus Chicken (2)
  • Sesame Chicken (2)
  • Margarita Chicken (2)
  • Oh So Easy Pork Chops (2)
  • Marinated Pork Chops (4)
  • Marinated Steak (1)
  • Taco Soup (1)

Total of 16 Bags with over 50 servings!! **pictures of each cooked item to come later

Recipes:

Margarita Chicken

marg chix marg chix 2

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole chicken breasts (4 breasts)
  • 2 packages of Margarita mix with alcohol in it
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro (chopped)
  • 2 tablespoons of chicken seasoning (McCormick’s Grill Mates — Montreal chicken)

Preparing: Split chicken up between two freezer bags. Combine ingredients and split between the two freezer bags. Toss and knead into the meat. Flatten down so there is little to no air. Freeze.

Cooking Method: grill (preferred) or cook at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes

Citrus Chicken

IMG_1392 IMG_1393

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole chicken breasts (4 breasts)
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup of lemon juice ( about two large lemons)
  • 1/4 teaspoon rubbed sage
  • 1.5 inch section of fresh ginger (peeled & minced) or 1-2 teaspoons of ground ginger
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • a few drops of tabasco

Preparing: Split chicken up between two freezer bags. Combine ingredients and split between the two freezer bags. Toss and knead into the meat. Flatten down so there is little to no air. Freeze.

Cooking Method: grill (preferred) or cook at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes

Sesame Chicken

IMG_1394 sesame chix

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole chicken breasts (4 breasts)
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 2 tablespoons ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds (toast them if you would like)

Preparing: Split chicken up between two freezer bags. Combine ingredients and split between the two freezer bags. Toss and knead into the meat. Flatten down so there is little to no air. Freeze.

Cooking Method: grill (preferred) or cook at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes

Greek Chicken

IMG_1396 IMG_1397

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole chicken breasts (4 breasts)
  • 2 tablespoons dill leaves
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 2 teaspoons italian seasoning
  • 2 large lemons or 4 small lemons
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Preparing: Split chicken up between two freezer bags. Combine ingredients and split between the two freezer bags. Toss and knead into the meat. Flatten down so there is little to no air. Freeze.

Cooking Method: grill (preferred) or cook at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes

Oh So Easy Pork Chops

IMG_1404 ohsoeasy pork

Ingredients:

  • 6 bone in pork chops
  • 1.5 cups fruit preserve (I used apricot)
  • 1/2 cup teriyaki sauce
  • 1/4 cup Dijon mustard

Preparing: Split pork up between two freezer bags. Combine ingredients and split between the two freezer bags. Toss and knead into the meat. Flatten down so there is little to no air. Freeze.

Cooking Method: grill (preferred)

Marinated Pork

IMG_1406 marinated pork

Ingredients:

  • 10 bone in pork chops
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 4 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup ketchup

Preparing: place 2 pork chops in 2 bags and 3 pork chops in 2 bags. Combine ingredients and split between the four freezer bags. Toss and knead into the meat. Flatten down so there is little to no air. Freeze.

Cooking Method: grill (preferred)

Marinated London Broil

IMG_1398 marinated steak

Ingredients:

  • London Broil
  • 1/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 3 tablespoons italian seasoning
  • 1.5 tablespoons died parsley
  • 1 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon tabasco

Preparing: place meat into freezer bag. Combine ingredients and pour over meat. Toss and knead into the meat. Flatten down so there is little to no air. Freeze.

Cooking Method: grill (preferred)

Taco Soup

IMG_1401 taco soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, chopped (i didn’t have an onion)
  • 1 (16 ounce) can chili beans, rinsed
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 (15 ounce) can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can or bottle beer (or broth)
  • 2 (10 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with green chilis, undrained
  • 1 package of taco seasoning (1.25 ounces)
  • 2 whole skinless, boneless chicken breasts (I didn’t have that much, so I used less)

Preparing: combine all ingredients in a ziplock bag. Flatten down so there is little to no air. Freeze.

Cooking Method: cook in crockpot on Low for 6-8 hours or High for 4-6.

Garnish with cheddar cheese, sour cream, &/or crushed tortilla chips

31 thoughts on “Freezer Meals Prep

  1. Pingback: Luke’s Nursery Progress: Part 1 | Two Under Two Blog

  2. Pingback: Link Love 3.22.13

  3. I’m going to try all of this this week. Just to see how it goes. I plan on going back to school soon and while it’ll all be online, just having something i can pull out of the freezer and set on the counter without worrying about it later makes me so happy.

    • I know what you mean. I love not having to worry about dinner! I spent a WHOLE day freezer meal prepping the first time. It’s best to do it when you can get neat on sale so that it’s not too expensive. Happy meal planning, Rebecca!

  4. Pingback: Five on Friday: Freeze or I’ll Make You Cook | Undomestic Goddess

  5. I love that you give recipes that are not crock pot recipes!! My house is also a NCP (non-crock pot) house. I’m am trying my first go at freezer meals and it is becoming unbelievably hard to find good ones that are NCP. I am also huge on chicken, so I will definitely be giving these a try.

    • We tried a huge crock pot freezer meal extravaganza earlier in the year and I prefer grilling over crock pot meals. The convenience is awesome, but the flavors tend to be blander. I always have a few crock pot meals in the freezer for busy days. 🙂

  6. Thank you! We love our crock pot, but sometimes I just want something different. A lot of those meals can be converted to oven baked, but its hit or miss. Thanks for the marinades! Cant wait to try them!

  7. Pingback: Freezer Meals, Wisdom for a Busy Mom - Domestically Speaking

  8. Pingback: Whole30 Meal Plan Week #2

  9. Pingback: Whole 30 Meal Plan Week #2

  10. Pingback: what’s wrong with me?! | Dawg Handler's Yard

  11. Pingback: Whole 30 Meal Plan Week #3

  12. Thank you! This is so much simpler than croc pot meals!! This is much easier to put together and decide to cook later. I haven checked yet but hope there are more similar posts now or soon 🙂

    I also have two under two and need something like this.

    • Hi Kyra,
      I usually make rice in my rice cooker. Most people don’t know that you can put veggies on top of your rice in the rice cooker and have less mess to clean. I also grill corn (in the husk with butter garlic and a little chile powder wrapped in foil). I have also cooked baby red potatoes in the oven with olive oil, garlic, and spices. Which meal were you thinking about making?

      • I just got done making the margarita chicken, sesame chicken, and greek chicken. I’ve wanted to make freezer meals, but my family and I are not really casserole or crock pot fans. These recipes were exactly what I was looking for! I can’t wait to eat them 🙂

      • We aren’t crock pot families either. I try to make them for my convenience, but I always enjoy and find myself turning to marinades and grilling 🙂
        Hope you like them.
        Here’s a little tip: don’t leave them in the freezer longer than 6 months and eat the sesame chicken before that because the salt content in the marinade will mess with the chicken.

        ENJOY!

  13. Pingback: Luke’s Nursery Progress: Part 1 | NESTled with LOVE

  14. Pingback: Happy Taco Day!! - 350 Preheat

  15. oh wow… my eyes are horrible and when the worm dropped down on the screen it scared the living daylights out of me, I thought it was a spider on my monitor! just thought I’d make you laugh 🙂

  16. I have been doing freezer meals for 3 months. I prep 1 day for the whole month! I’m loving it, but getting tired of soups/stews and crock pot meals. They are just too heavy for hot summer days! Thanks for the great ideas for NCP meals!

  17. Pingback: Happy Taco Day!! - I Heart Food

Leave a comment